Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

UV light, true or crap?

Old 02-04-2008, 05:57 PM
Fork Horn

Default UV light, true or crap?

What's the deal with deer and predators seeing UV light.
You know when people say that they will see you ( your clothes ) glow like a light bulb.
Is this true or just a bunch of crap?
Old 02-04-2008, 05:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: UV light, true or crap?

i would think its a bunch of crap, but im not an expert
Old 02-04-2008, 07:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

I kept reading articles about "glowing" camo, so I got worried and got a black light. I always use the detergent without the UV brighteners, but I read where camo that you buy will glow. When I checked, none of my camo or any of my clothes glowed. Then I checked othere clothes and about the only thing that really showed up was whites.
Old 02-05-2008, 06:08 AM
Dominant Buck

This is from a university study on cervid vision, draw your own conclusion:

I've blacklighted newly purchased camo, and camo that I've washed in Sportwash, only the new stuff "glowed". Whites and blaze were particularly bright, but all of the new items showed a distinct "glow". I've also tested Atsko UV Killer and found it to work as advertised. One thing you need to remember is that unlike animals with enhanced night vision our corneas have a built in UV blocking ability, so we can't see the glow like they do without using a UV emitting source such as a blacklight. Get a blacklight and try it yourself, you'll see what I mean.

Old 02-05-2008, 07:32 AM

Deer most def. can see UV..... Ducks and several other species of birds as well.
Old 02-05-2008, 09:27 AM
Typical Buck