Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Need input scouting map

Old 10-19-2021, 12:26 PM
Spike

Default Need input scouting map

Hey everyone.

I'm new to the thread and a relatively new hunter. I've hunted some in the past and killed 2 deer over the past 10 years, but this season I am getting more into it. I am hunting family land (about 60 acres) and haven't spent time scouting the deer patterns other than frequently seeing them in the fields. I just saw four deer this morning, two of which were 6 point bucks that were together in the field. Earlier this summer I counted 11 deer in one of the fields, so we have a good population. I attached an aerial view of the land (the full 60 acres) and made some notes based on my knowledge of the terrain. I just placed a ground blind in location #1 in the image, which is along a small sloping ridge deep in the timber. Most of the timber on this land is a trough with a creek in the middle. I have thought about posting up in two other locations on the map (#2 and #3). After hunting season I plan to do a lot more scouting with trail cameras next year before the following hunting season. But for now, any input from other experienced hunters on general thoughts about this terrain and good locations to consider would be appreciated.

Need input scouting map-land-layout.jpg
Old 10-21-2021, 01:51 PM
Spike

I think I need to come out there and help you (JK). Nice looking land. Near the lake. Near the point in section 2. High ground.
Old 10-22-2021, 05:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

I notice near point #2 that the slope and gully come together. That may work as a natural funnel down into the trough.