Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Buck Roar

Old 12-26-2007, 09:46 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Buck Roar

Just bought the buck roar today. Anybody have one. If so give me some feed back and tell me if it really works.
Old 12-27-2007, 05:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Buck Roar

i bought one and so far everytime i have used it, it has scared off the deer i was grunting at. not saying it doesn't work, it just hasn't worked for me in my area.
Old 12-27-2007, 05:45 AM

I have been using for several months now; called quite of few bucks in. Mr. Java likes it so much I bought him one for Christmas.
Old 12-27-2007, 07:24 AM
Nontypical Buck

My son has one. Opening morning he walked it, sat for 20 minutes, hit the roar just like the video said to. 3 minutes later shot a 3 point that was stomping at him.

Old 12-27-2007, 09:22 AM
Typical Buck

ORIGINAL: CamoCop

i bought one and so far everytime i have used it, it has scared off the deer i was grunting at. not saying it doesn't work, it just hasn't worked for me in my area.
In my experiences withgruntingin bucks, ifyou are trying tocall indeer that are in visual range, a regular tending grunt is a much safer bet to start.If the deer doesn't respond to using the call as a regular buck grunt andstarts heading away, then you can try it as a roar as you have nothing to lose.
Withyounger, non-dominantbucks that are closer to your stand site, the roar can be intimidating, especially during the rut when smaller bucks have already been on thelosing end of a fight. Keep in mind the roar is a very aggressive call. The roar excels at bringing in bigger deer that are further out of eyesight. They come running in to see who is in their area.