Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How many of you have...

Old 12-02-2007, 08:24 PM
Fork Horn

Default How many of you have...

heard a buck "roar" or "growl"? I have a buddy that says he has heard it twice this year and once last year. I have been hunting for about 20 years and I have yet to hear it. Just wondering how many of you have heard it?
Old 12-03-2007, 07:22 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How many of you have...

I heard it for the first time this year, it was on the next ridge over and I was videoing my dads hunt. It was loud and scared us both half to death more than anything, never saw the buck though.
Old 12-03-2007, 07:49 AM
Giant Nontypical

I've been in the woods my whole life and I've never heard it.
Old 12-03-2007, 08:15 AM
Dominant Buck

ORIGINAL: farmcntry

Same here, if you have chances are it was someone blowing a call too long. Just another marketing gimmick.
Old 12-03-2007, 08:18 AM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: kevin1

ORIGINAL: farmcntry

Same here, if you have chances are it was someone blowing a call too long. Just another marketing gimmick.
Now I must say that we had 2 bucks fighting and they were leaving the area. I quickly grunted and they paid me no attention. I used the buck growl (just once and VERY loudly) and one of the bucks came back in.
This buck came back to the buck growl after ignoring regular grunting.
Will it work all the time? Nope, hasn't worked since.

Old 12-03-2007, 08:30 AM
Spike