Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Preseason Efforts to Harvest During Season??

Old 11-24-2007, 02:47 PM

Default Preseason Efforts to Harvest During Season??

Hello eveyone, I am a college student from Wisconsin and I live 2 hours away from where I go to school. This season, I had little time to scout out area, shoot my gun, or prepare all the needed gear for the seasons hunt. I purchased a fiberoptics sight for my shotgun and put it on 2 days before the opener, with no time to shoot before the season. I went out opening morning, realizing I had no handwarmers, binocs, or my multi grunter; all items I have not gone without in years past. I felt I was more stressed here than in the hours before a final exam.

I coped with what I had, saw a couple of deer that were far out of range, and met up with the other hunters in my party. We put a drive on a woods and kicked up a mature doe. I happened to be posted and shot 3 times, missing every shot. I was disappointed with my miss but knew there was a lot of season left.

Two days later, I saw nothing in the morning but wasnt about to give up. I went out at about 2, few asleep in my stand, and was awoken by the rustling of a doe and small buck feeding on some marsh grass. I got my gun ready, waited for the right shot, and fired at the doe 5 times. I got down to check for a blood trail which I was expecting and found nothing. The next day, I went out to look in the daylight for a trail and found nothing. I decided then to go to the range and fire a few rounds of sluggs. What I realized was that I was shooting consistently low with my new sights on. I was upset, knowing that I may have filled a tag if I had taken the time to do a little work before the season started.