Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

I suck at gutting deer

Old 10-13-2007, 08:04 PM
Spike

Default I suck at gutting deer

I've been gutting deer for about ten years and I still manage to cut into/knick the stomach more often than I would like. The last deer I shot I put his butt on a down hill slope so the guts would move away from the sternum and tried to cut shallow under the sternum and still knicked the guts. I cut and pull the skin back so I have a good cutting area. Once I get the initial cut I'm good.....i use a zipper blade. Is there an easy way/trick to prevent cutting into the stomach on the initial cut?
Old 10-14-2007, 08:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: I suck at gutting deer

Pull the skin up with one hand and cut slowly with a sharp knife with the other on the skin tht you have bulled away from the belly. You only need a little cut so that you can get a couple of fingers in the cut and then pull the skin up from the body. Use a gut hook or reverse you knife and keep it between your guiding fingers untill you hit the rib cage.
Old 10-14-2007, 11:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

I start at the brisket. Cut down until you've gone thru the hide, put 2 fingers in and spread them out like a peace symbol. Put the blade of the knife b/w the fork made by your fingers and start going down towards the nutz or titties. Once you get to the pelvis split the hide until about 1.5" away from the anus. Cut around the anus and use a string or zap strap to tie bum hole. Once this is done you have a choice, you can either split the pelvic bone or leave it. It really doesn't matter. But if your having problems with anything I would recommend that you split....... its slightly easier to get everything out. VOILA