Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to Deer Hunting

Old 09-25-2007, 03:30 PM

Default New to Deer Hunting

I'm wondering what the better deer calls are and when and how you use them.
I'm new to deer hunting and would appreciate any help/advice/tips anyone would be gracious enough to provide me.
Old 09-25-2007, 07:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to Deer Hunting

Well i like the Grunt call and rattling during the rut. I bought my grunt from walmart and rattling antlers form a deer my uncle shot. All i do is put the grunt call in my mouth and grunt first then rattle and during the sequence i like to put a few grunts out.. Also "The Can" works pretty good to.
Old 09-25-2007, 08:18 PM

Go to this page as a start and listen to the Sounds the Whitetail makes. Eachsound has itsuses to a deer just like each time we speak we mean something different also. Pay particular attention to Contact calls. Deer have a way of communicating with each other in the morning after the sun rises say 7:00 to 9:00am to "SEE" who else is around them. It canbest bedescribed as a real light woodpecker sound. But if you really listen closely, you will distinguish the various deer calling out. You can actually hear them moving along together. It is your job to become one of them by calling out "Contact" but not alerting them to danger. Becoming one of them. With a little practice you will have deer wacking to you with no problem. I like the can by Primos for does around rut. But I use the True Talker year round for contact. You can sound like a doe all the way to a mature buck.
Good Luck! Any Questions, ask them. There will always be someone here to answer or help you.
http://www.wideworldofhunting.com/soundsofwhitetail/WhitetailDeerSounds.htm
Old 09-25-2007, 08:44 PM
Giant Nontypical