Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

field dressin question

Old 09-21-2007, 07:40 PM

Default field dressin question

hi everyone im new here to the forums and hunting. Well my question is what was it like gutting/field dressing your first deer, because ill be needing some tips soon becuase we have been scouting alot of deer in our one spot...
thanks Bt
Old 09-21-2007, 07:50 PM
Spike

Default RE: field dressin question

I wouldn't be able to tell you what its like to field dress a deer because I am a newbie and havent gotten the privlage to do that yet.. Hopefully I will be able to do so this season. But my grandpa hear of a new way he hasn't tried it yet.....

Grandpa: "I recently heard of a new and easy way to skin a deer or an elk. You hang it on a secure tree or skinning rack. Cut the hideall the way from the A-hole to the neck, then cut the hide on the inside of all four legs to where it meets the cut from the A-hole to the neck, after you cut the hide around the bottom ofall four legs Then you cut around the neck peel it back until you have enough hide to wrap around a baseball. You then tie a rope around the hide, that is wrapped around the baseball, attach it to a trailer hitch and drive slowly away. Supposedly the hide peels off like a coat."

He said it took him 3 days to field dress this elk... Hopefully you can do it quicker...

Old 09-21-2007, 08:12 PM
Spike

Sorry it wont except myphoto....
Old 09-21-2007, 09:10 PM
Fork Horn