Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Moon Phase Hunting?

Old 09-04-2007, 10:34 AM
Fork Horn

Default Moon Phase Hunting?

For Indiana's season opener it is going to be 5 days after a full moon, Is this good or bad? If any body does a lot of deer hunting by moon phases feel free to give any advise or tips that might help me out.
Old 09-04-2007, 10:39 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Moon Phase Hunting?

Go here: www.amazon.com

Buy this:

Learn and enjoy.

I'm just getting started with it and can't offer much info. I have talked to a lot of folks about hunting by moon phases. Some say it's a big deal, others say they pay no attention to it.
Old 09-04-2007, 10:54 AM
Dominant Buck

ORIGINAL: zmschillin

For Indiana's season opener it is going to be 5 days after a full moon, Is this good or bad? If any body does a lot of deer hunting by moon phases feel free to give any advise or tips that might help me out.
The study of animal and Insect reactions to the Barometer readings is more accurate than to the Moon Phases.
Old 09-04-2007, 12:40 PM
Fork Horn

Hey zmschillin, what season are you talking about opening(bow or gun)? I also hunt in Southwest Indiana. I usually don't have much luck whenever there is a full moon out. You want to try and hunt the days before and after a new moon. Because this is the time whenever the most daytime feeding occurs. Don't get me wrong, you will still see some deer during the full moon, just not as many. Tell me what season you are hunting and I will tell you what information on the moon phases I have found out.
Old 09-05-2007, 10:31 AM
jf5

I too understand the new moon to be good for daytime feeding. However, IMO, the moon is only part of the equation. Overall combination if "conditions" is what to look at. Weather, solar and lunar phases, hunting pressure, water/food sources, etc...all play little roles.