Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

ATV Question

Old 08-26-2007, 08:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: ATV Question

I have some experience with the 250cc quads.

I use to own a Kawasaki 220 Bayou many years ago. I used it to get several deer out of the woods. I now have a bigger 4x4 quad.

I got my daughter a Suzuki Ozark and my wife has a Honda Recon.

Yes, those 250cc quads will get you back in to your hunting area and haul out a deer as long as the hills aren't very steep. Its not that it won't have enough power ( it will) it is that with a deer on the back rack it will lift the front wheels off the ground and may possibly flip over while going up a hill.

Of the quads mentioned the Ozark is a little better in power, handling, suspension, speed and comfort.

The Recon is good but the Ozark is just a bit better.
Old 08-26-2007, 08:12 PM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: warny

My grandfather hauled many moose out with his 200 fourtrax.Try to find a Honda if possible.They are like tanks.
Another great fourwheeler with a rep to back it up for sure!
Old 08-26-2007, 08:14 PM
Giant Nontypical

I traded for a 2003 Yamaha Kodiac 400 4x4 ....Ive never owned a Yamaha before but this one seems like it will do the job ....

dd
Old 08-26-2007, 08:15 PM
Giant Nontypical

Don't have to necessarily have to put the deer on the rack - you can always drag it.
Old 08-26-2007, 08:36 PM
Typical Buck