Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Ritual after you kill first deer? >

Ritual after you kill first deer?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Ritual after you kill first deer?

Old 08-08-2007, 11:17 AM

Default Ritual after you kill first deer?

Hey Guys,
I am new to hunting and have some buddies that say after you kill your first deer you have to eat the heart raw right in the field. I am guessing they are yanking my chain???
Old 08-08-2007, 11:45 AM
bigcountry

Default RE: Ritual after you kill first deer?

Actually tastes pretty good. Kinda likerare backstraps. Every once in a while I will chew a hunk out of it. But no spiritual reason. Just curious. Maybe little hankering for some eggs and bacon after a hard morning hunt. Go for it.

Old 08-08-2007, 11:50 AM
Fork Horn

The beauty of life is that you don't really "have" to do anything.

Spud
Old 08-08-2007, 12:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

I like to reach in, rip the heart out,(preferably while still pumping) open my mouth and take a big bite. All while the blood is running down my clothes. OR MAYBE NOT!!!!!!

I killed my first deer when I was 12 and they tried to get me to eat a piece of the heart also. I let them put blood on my face, but that's it. Don't believe everything you hear!
Old 08-08-2007, 01:02 PM
Super Moderator

Lol... in my hunting camp everyone has to kiss their first deer on the lips for a picture. We even go as far as to put lipstick on most of the deer. I did it with my first one. And now all of mycousins are finally old enough to start hunting(12). So for the last few years and hopefully the next few years, the kissing will continue.

Old 08-08-2007, 01:48 PM