Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 How to determine deer population? >

How to determine deer population?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How to determine deer population?

Old 07-24-2007, 10:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default How to determine deer population?

I am about to purchase 400 acres (S.E. Oklahoma)in an area where I know there are deer, but how do I determine how many? The land is pretty wooded and the surrounding properties all said it was okay to hunt their land as well(thousands of acres).I know this may sound dumb, but is there a way to add deer to my herd? Also, I thought it would be fun to hunt wild hogs, is there a way to add them to the population?

Please don't bash me too hard I am new here. I have been hunting for over 10 years though. Thanks for any responses.

Old 07-24-2007, 12:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How to determine deer population?

You could use track surveys if you had a road or combo of roads that run the perimeterof the property. As for adding hogs to the property, please don't ruin your land like that! Come to florida and see the way groups of hogs tear up our woods. I can't stand them,and neither can the timber company thatleases the land to us.
Old 07-24-2007, 02:16 PM
Boone & Crockett

Lease a helicopter for a night and fly it with an infrared camera and you can get the best idea of deer population. I agree with bryant, don't ruin your land introducing hogs to the property. They ruin it and all the contiguous landowners as well.
Old 07-24-2007, 03:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

How do hogs tear up the land i.e. in what sense? I don't have access to a helicopter w/ night vision (cool idea though). Maybe I will just try and look for signs i.e. rubs, tracks, beds etc..
Old 07-24-2007, 06:34 PM
Nontypical Buck