Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Tracking wounded deer with dogs >

Tracking wounded deer with dogs

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Tracking wounded deer with dogs

Old 06-23-2007, 11:24 AM

Default Tracking wounded deer with dogs

Just wondering if anyone out there has used a tracking dog to find a wounded animal or not and what was your experience with them and or disappointments? I have been tracing for 8 years in VT and have had some good experiences and bad ones but havent really heard too much fed back from anyone. Just wondering!

Old 06-23-2007, 01:14 PM

Default RE: Tracking wounded deer with dogs

I think using a dog for tracking is a good idea. They can find animals that we would lose and speed up finding the others. It should be limited to one dog to avoid dogs being used to drive outside of dog season. I know I made some jokes on the dog hunting thread, but I do think they have a place in deer hunting.
Old 06-23-2007, 01:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

We have used a dog in the past trailing up wounded deer. I feel it should be a must situation. I agree just one dog.
Old 06-23-2007, 03:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

My little shih tzu can track turkeys and deer both,since started using
a crossbow havent needed his services in awhile,it gets r done!
Old 06-23-2007, 08:18 PM