Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer rifles

Old 03-12-2007, 07:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Deer rifles

25.06 or .270 would be my choice.
Old 03-12-2007, 07:58 PM

Those are two great calibers for deer.
Old 03-12-2007, 08:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

There's nothing wrong with what he has now. Shooting off the bench is great for zeroing your scope. Point of impact will change when shooting in the field freehand or with an improvised rest. Know where the bullet will hit before pulling the trigger.
Old 03-13-2007, 05:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: thndrchiken

Shooting off the bench is great for zeroing your scope. Point of impact will change when shooting in the field freehand or with an improvised rest.
Huh!!! I have been hunting and shooting for over 25 years and have never had my POI change due to changing rests or shooting positions. IF your gun is sighted in and hitting where you aim on the range, there is ABSOLUTELY NO REASON (other than human error) why a gun should not shoot "true" in hunting conditions.

Old 03-13-2007, 06:00 AM
Spike

Have to agree with Predator26. I have a Model 670 in 30-06 and usually drop them where they're shot. My favorite load is a 180 gr. Core-Lok. It is extremely important to hit the range after a flight or a car trip before heading out for game. Sounds like you learned that the hard way.
Old 03-14-2007, 10:59 AM
Fork Horn

I'm not a mulie man, but I can tell you that .308 150 Gr. Corelokts are mean medicine for whitetail.

Even if he's talking about a 7mm-08 and not a remmag, still should be fine on a shoulder shot. He also didnt say if they recovered his deer.