Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

building stands

Old 12-20-2006, 06:08 PM
Spike

Default building stands

I am new to bowhunting this year, and my inlaws have about 150 acres south of lynchburg. I see deer signs everywhere, but hardly any buck signs. Need some advice on attracting buck. also, does anyone know how or have plans for building their own stand?
Old 12-21-2006, 06:56 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: building stands

Don't know what kind of stand you are talking about, but if it is a ground blind I would get one of those pop up blinds, easier to put up and move. If you mean a ladder stand I would bet you can buy one that is lighter, safer, will last longer and for about the same or less money.
Old 12-21-2006, 07:30 AM

find a tree that u want a stand in put a 2by4 on eachside how ever high u want your standthen on the end ofthose put 2by4that go down to the ground then start adding steps and then add the top of the plat form and add extra strength by putting a bored from each side of the ladder to the side of the tree
Old 12-21-2006, 07:49 AM
Nontypical Buck