HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Setting up and preping a blind (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/159489-setting-up-preping-blind.html)

Red Lion 10-13-2006 08:30 AM

Setting up and preping a blind

I am going to set out my new doghouse pop-up blind on the land that I am deer huntingduring rifle season tomorrow. I have never used a pop-up blind before. I know to camo it so it blends in well with the surroundings, but are there other things that I could/should do in preparation that I should or would have wished I would have done come time to hunt that I may be unaware of? Thanks for any feedback ahead of time.

DannyD 10-13-2006 09:45 AM

RE: Setting up and preping a blind

Hey Red,

Make sure you have removed all twigs and leaves from the area you will be setting your blind. Don't want to make noise when moving your feet.

Whatever windows you will not be using the mesh, take it off now.The velcrois noisy when taking it off in the woods.

Stake the blind down. The doghouse will move quite a bit in any wind since it has those round bottoms.

Keep windows behind you shut to assist in concealing your movement.

Red Lion 10-13-2006 09:49 AM

That is just the kind of advice I was looking for. Thanks.

DannyD 10-13-2006 09:54 AM

No problem,

One last item. Draw your bow a few times while sitting in the blind. This will help in determining the best position for your chair

Mike from Texas 10-13-2006 10:45 AM

Danny pretty much nailed it.

wis_bow_huntr 10-13-2006 10:54 AM

try to use a chair with no armrests. this will allow you to shoot better and turn if you have to.

Hoosier_Hunter1963 10-13-2006 11:40 AM

Here's a couple more things that I discovered last year while blind hunting.