Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Setting up and preping a blind >

Setting up and preping a blind

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Setting up and preping a blind

Old 10-13-2006, 08:30 AM

Default Setting up and preping a blind

I am going to set out my new doghouse pop-up blind on the land that I am deer huntingduring rifle season tomorrow. I have never used a pop-up blind before. I know to camo it so it blends in well with the surroundings, but are there other things that I could/should do in preparation that I should or would have wished I would have done come time to hunt that I may be unaware of? Thanks for any feedback ahead of time.
Old 10-13-2006, 09:45 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Setting up and preping a blind

Hey Red,

Make sure you have removed all twigs and leaves from the area you will be setting your blind. Don't want to make noise when moving your feet.

Whatever windows you will not be using the mesh, take it off now.The velcrois noisy when taking it off in the woods.

Stake the blind down. The doghouse will move quite a bit in any wind since it has those round bottoms.

Keep windows behind you shut to assist in concealing your movement.
Old 10-13-2006, 09:49 AM

That is just the kind of advice I was looking for. Thanks.
Old 10-13-2006, 09:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

No problem,

One last item. Draw your bow a few times while sitting in the blind. This will help in determining the best position for your chair
Old 10-13-2006, 10:45 AM
Nontypical Buck

Danny pretty much nailed it.
Old 10-13-2006, 10:54 AM
Giant Nontypical

try to use a chair with no armrests. this will allow you to shoot better and turn if you have to.
Old 10-13-2006, 11:40 AM
Fork Horn

Here's a couple more things that I discovered last year while blind hunting.