Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

First time Hunting

Old 09-20-2006, 11:10 AM

Default First time Hunting

Hello everyone.

I'm twenty years old, a college student in Morehead Kentucky. I got my first gun when I was 16, so I'm still new to this. Right now I have an SKS that is in wonderful shape, and I use it frequently to target shoot at the gun range.
This year will be my first time hunting, I'll be with my grandfather on our farm in Spencer Co. Kentucky.

I'm trying not to invest a fortune in equipment. So my question is what do I need? I'm worried about my gun most of all, being it would likely be the most expensive.
Old 09-20-2006, 11:49 AM

Default RE: First time Hunting

Awesome! New hunter, first time, and going out with your Grandfather. Perfect!

I've been actively hunting for about 15 years now(the last 10 more serious than the first 5) and here's what I can tell you:
1. Take good care of your gun, treat it well and be safe and keep it cleaned after every hunt and at the end of every season and it'll last a lifetime!

2. You don't need all the techy stuff they market. A simple wardrobe of camo and hunter orange hat and vest will get you thru many years of hunting. I am still using my first ever set of camo pants and jacket for bow that I bought in 1990! Again, take good care of your stuff and it'll last a lifetime!

3. If you need a stand, there are many out there. I have a Summit and when my son is old enough to hunt in 2 more years he will also get a Summit. I suggest you ask fellow hunters their opinions, you make the final decision. As far as price, they do get expensive. But my opinion is you spend the money to buy the right stand even though it might be a lot of $....but you buy it once and take good care of it and it'll last a lifetime!!