Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Screw in Steps vs. Climbing sticks? >

Screw in Steps vs. Climbing sticks?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Screw in Steps vs. Climbing sticks?

Old 09-05-2006, 01:09 PM

Default RE: Screw in Steps vs. Climbing sticks?

I like and use climbing sticks/ladder versus screw in steps. I do not feel secure in climbing on screw in steps when less than optimal conditions, such as rain and snow or low light. I prefer to heft a little more weight of the climbing sticks versus the risk that many "cheesy" screw ins provide.
Old 09-05-2006, 06:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: GregH

Wow! Why would anyone climb a dead tree regardless of using steps or sticks? You're taking your life into your own hands when you do this. I've been using screw in steps for over 20 years. I've had the old, blunt tiped, hard to use single piece steps break when frozen, but when using the more expensive two piece screw in steps, I've never had a problem. You get what you pay for. You must also remember to not use the same hole for your steps. They wear out and the step will pull out. They will also pull out if you don't screw them into the tree properly. They should always lay nice and flat against the tree after being screwed fully in. It is also possible to screw them too far into the tree which can cause them to try and lever themselves out of the tree. I have over 50 steps. I always check them and maintain them. Throw away the bad ones. Bent, rusty or loose pins should be discarded. Your life is not worth the risk. I always carry 15 with me when setting a stand. I can go from 3 to 30 feet with that amount. The extras are used for hanging bows, calls, rattling antlers, binos, cameras etc. The climbing sticks are nice also, a bit cumbersome, but easier to use as you get older. Eve