Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

deer gun questoin

Old 08-27-2006, 10:38 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: deer gun questoin

I am no expert on firearms but if you want a flat shooting rifle I would suggest a .270. This caliber has enough power to kill most any medium sized game, including beers with the proper amount of bullet weight! If your not worried about recoil I would recommend the 30-06 due to being able to go anywhere in the world and having the ability to purchase ammo. My brother in law was able to find some really cheap foreign made 06 ammo while he was serving time overseas in some country i think it was uzbecistan or something,that is a break off of the soviet union.
Hope the advice helps
Old 08-27-2006, 11:02 PM
Typical Buck

It's amazing at the pages these threads make up. The answer to this is about any of the chamberings named will do the job in proper hands. I like anything betwen a 25-06 t0 30-06 for deer and black bear. They'll all do it.
Old 08-29-2006, 10:58 AM
Spike

Nice looking rig. Now the key to you being happy with it is to go out to the range and shoot it. Over and over again. Get it sighted in properly, of course, and experiment with varying cartridge manufacturers and bullet weights till you find the one that provides the best accuracy for your particular rifle. Believe me, it makes a difference. But practise, practise, practise. It should become second nature for you to shoulder that rifle, acquire the sight picture, and squeeze off a shot.