HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Using the right attractant (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/13890-using-right-attractant.html)

lavy07 10-25-2002 08:03 PM

Using the right attractant

I am going on a hunt on Nov. 13 and I'm new to the hunting world. When I walk into the isle where the deer attractants are there are so many of them and nothing really explains each one real well. So, I settled on Tinks #69. What I'm wondering is,is any one scent better than the other one or does it really matter. I'm told alot of that has to do with the rut and to tell you the truth I don't even know when that starts. So, I guess my next question is when does the rut begin and end? I live in north Texas near the Texas\oklahoma border in montague county if that helps anyone out. Being new to all of this any input is greatly apprieciated.

Tree climber 10-25-2002 08:22 PM

RE: Using the right attractant

I've never been big on sents. I have always just went natural. had bad experence with sents about 15 to 20 years ago. they are different sents now,so they may work.

I got some free James Valley "Lethal Weapon" about a week ago. my B/P season opens in the morning,I am going to try it. I will let you know tomorrow night how it works.

I am not a hunter I am a whitetail population reduction specialest

remember keep your back to the sun, your knife sharp, and your powder dry.

hunts56 10-25-2002 08:26 PM

Go to Texas Parks and wildlife web site. Click on hunting. Then click on wildlife district. Then type in your county. Hope this helps Hunts56

Tree climber 10-26-2002 02:15 PM

tried the leathal weapon this morning and had reeeeaaal baaaad results. every deer down wind was blowning and running.