Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Public Land Hunting Etiquette

Old 01-12-2006, 10:23 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default Public Land Hunting Etiquette

With the exception of one pheasant hunt in S. Dakota, I have no experience with hunting on public land. But, I keep hearing about people here who hunt entirely on public land. So, now I am interested in how people work it out. I would assume that it is first come, first serve in terms of claiming a site for a deer stand. But, do you simply have to mark the spot, or put a stand up as soon as possible. How does it get worked out if someone decides to put a stand right next to you? Or, are there public hunting areas where spots are assigned and distance between stands is regulated?
Old 01-12-2006, 10:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Public Land Hunting Etiquette

lanse, it all depends on how the other hunters are in your area. here in florida we will mark the very beginning of the trail we walk in on with orange flagging tape. on the tape, we will use a sharpie marker and put the dates of when we are planning to hunt that spot. if the people in your hunting area are considerate, they will stay out of the area during the dates you put on the tape. however, there is always some buttholes in the crowd and will not respect what you have done. if this is the case, you may have to move to another area or put up with another hunter hunting 20 yards from you.