Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

ouch

Old 12-10-2005, 11:05 AM
Typical Buck

Default ouch

maybe i should stick to fishing...

this is my first year hunting deer...and this morning i got the perfect oppurtuninty to get my first.

we had sat out in the woods for 3 hours with no luck, once we got home, we could see a large bodied buck in the food plot behind the house, so me and my friend Ben who was filming high tailed it to a stand nearby, hoping to intersect him. We didnt see the buck anymore, but does started jumping out of the thicket left and right, and i got a chace at one. The doe was 150 yds away pretty much broadside and barely moving, i pulled the trigger, but jerked. The deer did a little stumble like it had been hit, but after looking at film and the area, it was just scared by the bullett. This was a perfect oppurtunity for me to have gotten my first kill.

Yall have any suggestions on what i can do to calm myself to make a steady shoot...andything will help

Im hoping to head out this afternoon to redeem myself if i can, but i will admitt, i am fairly discouraged
Old 12-10-2005, 11:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: ouch

use a shooting rest if possible, remember to breath in, then out, and then squeeze the trigger. Don't anticepate the shot. It should come as a surprise. Good luck
Old 12-10-2005, 11:31 AM

use a shooting rest if possible

try and train yourself and think about the shot you are going to take a quick second and then pull the trigger
Old 12-10-2005, 02:16 PM
Typical Buck