Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Newbie Help

Old 12-02-2005, 02:17 PM

Default Newbie Help

Ok, almost ready:
Safety Course-Check
Gun-Check (Rem 700 BDL 7mm Mag, Marlin 336W 30-30)
License-Check
Orange Attire-Check
Practical Knowledge about Hunting and Tracking Deer-?????????

I am going hunting in NW Florida a few times over the next few weeks and I would appreciate any tips or tricks you guys might have for a first timer. Unfortunately, I have no one experiencedto go with. What sorts of things should I do to prepare?

Here is my plan so far (don't laugh)

Find a place to hole up (upwind)overlooking a field. Wait for the plethora of deer that are sure to arrive and wait for me to kill them. Maybe change positions once.

Suggestions?
Old 12-02-2005, 02:21 PM

Default RE: Newbie Help

1.You're gonna want to be downwind of where the deer will be.2.Find where the deer are using(i.e.feeding ,bedding and a water source.3.Get out and hunt.Good luck
Old 12-02-2005, 02:23 PM

Duh, I meant downwind Anyone have any pics of beds or tree rubs so I kinda know what Im looking for?
Old 12-02-2005, 02:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

Since you are assured of getting a deer (positive thinking). Do you have the necessary tools to field dress and drag?
Old 12-02-2005, 02:31 PM

Roger. I have a field knife, tow rope,plastic sheeting, a tarp, and an orange bag to place on the buck's head to ensure I do not get shot by another newbie. Anything else I might need?
Old 12-02-2005, 02:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

Field dressing gloves help.
Oh, and this sounds silly but bring the bullets.
friend of mine forgot his on opening day

Flashlight and trail markers for tracking
Old 12-02-2005, 02:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'd search on this forum and you'll find a lot of help.