HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Whitetail Deer Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting-4/)
-   -   Anyone else discouraged? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/whitetail-deer-hunting/122960-anyone-else-discouraged.html)

ostdc 11-29-2005 10:55 AM

Anyone else discouraged?

I'm just wondering if anyone else is discouraged by the quality of their hunts?
I have been hunting for 22 years. The first 10 years or so I shot the first legal buck that walked by....usually small spikes, forks, or 5 point yearlings. Then I started to get selective and wait for a nicer buck, and pass on the small ones. I shot a decent 6 point and then three years ago I shot my best buck, an 8 point with a 14" spread.
I agree that any buck that a person chooses to shoot, they should be proud of. I used to be perfectly happy shooting small bucks. The DMU that I hunt in usually does not allow doe harvest, but when it does, I'm happy to take my doe. But I'd really like to shoot a buck to hang on the wall. But in my 22 years of hunting experience, it just isn't happening.
Brian

PKnTX 11-29-2005 11:23 AM

RE: Anyone else discouraged?

ostdc,
Sounds like you've had a very good hunting
career so far and have probably gained alot of
experience. I'd be willing to bet patience and
your good attitude will pay off for you, maby in
ways you least expect it.
I've let myself get down after certain hunts before.
This is my 4th season, all on public land in N. Texas.
There is a low deer density in my area and it is
buck only. Hunting pressure is high. I have come to
talk about some of my hunts as just my time in the
woods (with my rifle) to some who don't understand
coming home with nothing to show. I was in the deep
woods from 2 hrs before daylight til after sundown the
day before Thanksgiving, did not see one deer. I had
all kinds of other wildlife within a few feet, including a
wild turkey, no deer. I still have the desire, just need