Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Do you think dog hunters/dogs for deer are ruining hunting? >

Do you think dog hunters/dogs for deer are ruining hunting?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Do you think dog hunters/dogs for deer are ruining hunting?

Old 10-13-2005, 08:54 PM

Default RE: Do you think dog hunters/dogs for deer are ruining hunting?

Unfortunately Briarhead, I have had extensive experience with dog hunters in SC and S Georgia. And without exception, the dogs caused trouble, ruined hunts, don't all get picked up and turn wild. The clubs that hunted around us would deliberately go to the other side of our property and turn them loose across us. In Bloomingdale , Georgia outside Savannah, a club was run off by the local police for parking in people's yards, gunning on the side of the road, using cb radioes, and careless and illegal other practices. In SC, we had 2 clubs ruined by them. One was 3500 acres, and the other was 1700 acres--not the small tract of land you mentioned before. Out of 25 hunters, there were only 12 deer killed the entire season. I could go onand on ,but I don't want to discourage you as you sound like a decent guy. But, it's not the dogs, but the people. In one of the SC clubs, on opening weekend, the adjacent dog club was lined up on a dirt road that went through our property--on both sides! I asked them what they were doing, and they said picking up their dogs. I asked them why they needed their guns--and got a blank stare with the go to you know where look! In middle Georgia, it was the same--except when they weren't running dogs during the day, they were spotlighting at night! I caught them red handed, and turned them in. THey were ejected rom their lease--turns out they were all city of Macon police officers. The worst offense was in October,