Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

New to Bow Hunting

Old 08-21-2005, 08:08 PM
Typical Buck

Default New to Bow Hunting

Hello all, I am new to archery hunting and only have the basic equipment. I have a bow equipped, tree stand and goretex camoflage clothing and pack. What other kind of equipment do I need to have a chance at any success? Please keep in mind I don't want to spend a fortune. Please help out.
Old 08-21-2005, 08:16 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: New to Bow Hunting

welcome ron3775, sounds like all you need is palce and time, you can go as elaborate or as simple as you choose, remember the indians have been doing it for years, there is also a bow section of this forum you may want to browse in. myself, i like to k.i.s.s., keep it simple stupid, best of luck
Old 08-21-2005, 09:49 PM

I agree, just spend time in the woods. I would recommend a pair of binoculars though. Good luck, and hunt safe.
Old 08-22-2005, 12:11 AM
Typical Buck

Please keep in mind I don't want to spend a fortune.
You can get by with the basic stuff but what fun is that? LOL! It sounds like you are set up well so spend time shooting and read everything you can get your hands on. Look at the "What to do AFTER the shot" posts for sure. Good luck and welcome.

SF
Old 08-22-2005, 12:20 AM
Typical Buck

welcome to the world of bowhunting...you'll never be the same.
you should really invest in a thermacell...they are worth their weight in gold.
make sure you practice, practice, and practice even more...good luck.
Old 08-22-2005, 05:42 AM
Giant Nontypical