Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

first deer

Old 08-19-2005, 02:40 AM
Fork Horn

Default first deer

im new to deer hunting and i am going to buy my first deer rifle very soon. i know that hunting is not about the trophy but the experience, and that is what i am looking forward to most is the time in hunting camp, but i was wondering...is there such thing as too small of a first buck?? what were the sizes of your guys' first deer? let me know, and if you care to share the complete story, my email is [email protected]. look forward to hearin responses. thanks
Old 08-19-2005, 03:31 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: first deer

This is my first deer , I was part of the Honor Guard at the White House. I only lived 90 miles from my home in N.E. Maryland. I scouted ,built a stand and shot this boy running full throttle at about 50 yds.

Old 08-19-2005, 06:09 AM
Boone & Crockett

If a deer is legal, and you are comfortable about shooting it, then go ahead. Unless you are involved with a deer management program on a long term tract of land there is nothing wrong with harvesting a smaller buck or a legal doe. I have shot plenty of deer and now have several tracts of land we try to manage for a trophy size deer, but I have a few tracts that I and my grandsons shoot anything we want to.
Old 08-19-2005, 06:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

This is my first buck...he scored a whopping 32 7/8[8D] So don't worry there is nothing wrong with your first buck being small. That just gives you a starting pointto build on....if you start w/ a World Record, then you are gonna have a hard time improving as you go on. And your first deer doesn't have to be a buck either. I took 3 does before I got this guy. I got him in my 5th year of hunting.

Old 08-19-2005, 07:07 AM