Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Mild Yet Adequate Deer Rifle

Old 06-15-2005, 07:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Mild Yet Adequate Deer Rifle

I would definitely check out the .250 Savage....I have been using one for the last 40 years. Kinda heavy, very little recoil and enough "gun" to drop a whitetail on his tracks. Also with almost 3000 fps, this little gun can 'reach out' as well....
Old 06-15-2005, 10:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

blue ridge
I cannot personally vouch for the performance of the managed recoil 270 round. I have not shot it at a deer yet. I will tell you that I have talked to a few that have and all have said it performed very well. The longest shot anyone had at a deer was 155 yards and he dropped it quickly. The balistics given by Remmington have it slightly better that the 30-30 out to 200 yards. As far as having to re-zero your scope when switching from regular round to the MR rounds, the MR rounds shot 1/2 inch low and 1inch right at 100 yards from my gun
Old 06-15-2005, 10:36 AM
Giant Nontypical

260 Rem all the way....most impressivelight recoiling gun out there IMHO!!!
Old 06-15-2005, 06:47 PM
Giant Nontypical