HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   West (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/west-28/)
-   -   New Hunter Needing A Mentor (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/west/427317-new-hunter-needing-mentor.html)

apocalypseoutpost 12-26-2021 01:01 PM

New Hunter Needing A Mentor

Greetings every one, I am very new to hunting. I need a mentor to teach me what I need to know about hunting. I am in the Curry County area of Oregon. So my question is there anyone in the Curry County area of Oregon that is willing to take on the mentor role to teach me to hunt.

Update/Edit/Aditional Information:
I am 40+ years in age. I am intrested in big game hunting (such as deer, elkd, and moose), Samall Game (Rabit and Squaril), as well as bird hunting (turking, duck and geese). I currently have a rifle chamered in 308 win and will be eventualy wanting to go bow hunting when finaces allow. Furthermore, I do have a learning disability and make of it as you will as it's as it is a aspect of who I am a person with how I am able to learn where I learn by reading, seeing and doing with taking longer to learn than what most people have patince to deal with.

JW 12-26-2021 03:54 PM

While I'm not from Oregon i certainly will try to help you.
Google " Mentored hunting in Oregon."
I'd start there first. It appears Oregon may have Learn to Hunt programs similar to Wisconsin.

Try that first

Next step would be to take and complete Oregon's Hunter Education Program.
JW

apocalypseoutpost 12-26-2021 04:28 PM

Thank you. I will do so.

JW 12-26-2021 04:52 PM

If you have any questions either post here as you will get other views and ideas or by all means Private Message me.
i hunt. Been at 60 plus yrs. I also teach Learn to Hunt programs and i have had the pleasure teaching hunter education in the state of Wisconsin for 28 yrs.

JW

apocalypseoutpost 12-26-2021 05:47 PM