Community
West MT, CO, WY, NM, NV, UT, CA, ID, WA, OR, AZ, HI, AK

Moving to LA

Old 12-01-2017, 12:14 PM
Spike

Default Moving to LA

Hi all,

I am relocating from the east coast to LA for job purposes next year. I've been hunting for two years and I got really into it. I do mostly bowhunting, I really love bowhunting and I have gotten pretty good with my bow. I also do rifle, but here on the east it isn't really that much fun. I am excited to give rifle hunting a try out west, but my thing really is bowhunting.

The problem is that I wish I was relocating to Colorado, UTAH, or at least northern California. I've been wondering what my options for hunting are if I live in the greater LA area. I could drive to other states, but have no idea where there's good hunting. From what I've heard, there's not good hunting in southern California. Is it worth it for me to buy a license in California at all?

I don't do guided hunts. I am looking mostly for public land, and easy permission private. I am not asking for "secret spots" just general areas I should consider.

Thanks!
Old 12-01-2017, 12:39 PM
Boone & Crockett

Vermont to LA, man are you in for a culture shock. You couldn't pay me enough to live in LA. I hope you find a place to hunt.
Old 12-01-2017, 12:40 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by Oldtimr
Vermont to LA, man are you in for a culture shock. You couldn't pay me enough to live in LA. I hope you find a place to hunt.
That's about right... not very happy about the situation, but what can I do?. It would hopefully be a temporary thing.
Old 12-01-2017, 12:49 PM
Super Moderator

Stick around. There's a few guys on here from So-Cal and they can give you more pointers and ideas on where to go. There's still places to hunt also. One of the hardest deer zones to hunt in So-Cal is down south and all of our sheep zones are down there as well. You'll have to drive some to get out of LA but if you're able to drive all the way from the east Coast, you'll be fine.