Community
West MT, CO, WY, NM, NV, UT, CA, ID, WA, OR, AZ, HI, AK

Road hunting

Old 11-05-2012, 01:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default Road hunting

I had no chance to scout this year until this past Saturday. I didn't want to screw anybody's hunting up so I waited until 10am to go out to scout. On the way up to where I usually park I saw 11 different trucks and 4 quads just road hunting. Even in the woods I ran into 2 hunters and they were less than a 1/4 mile off the road. Not sure why a non-resident would pay so wuch just to road hunt for a week. Hopefully it is like that next week during 4th rifle so I get the area to myself.
Old 11-06-2012, 04:59 PM
Spike

Just out of curiosity what is the limit for roads in your area? I have been hunting for 46 years and have yet to see a road worth taking a shot at. It's probably better that hunters like you and I don't road hunt, personally I wouldn't know what to do with one if I were to take one.
Old 11-06-2012, 05:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by NorCal
Just out of curiosity what is the limit for roads in your area? I have been hunting for 46 years and have yet to see a road worth taking a shot at. It's probably better that hunters like you and I don't road hunt, personally I wouldn't know what to do with one if I were to take one.
No limit and no season. Clean em and hang em....let em hang for a very long time. At least til the pot holes fill in.
Last year I wasn't elk hunting but went with a friend to be his sherpa. Met up with a group from out of state that only hunted from the road and only when it was warm. Found one of them drunk on the streets of Walden needing assistance back to his motel.
They flew in, drove 180 miles to hunt one and a half days then drive back to Denver and fly home. Doubt they got more than 50 yards off any road.
Old 11-14-2012, 10:54 AM
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by skb2706