HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   West (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/west-28/)
-   -   Where to Hunt Elk? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/west/209623-where-hunt-elk.html)

RandallT 09-30-2007 06:44 PM

Where to Hunt Elk?

If you had a chance to hunt elk once in your lifetime where and when would you go? I have not ever hunted elk so I am looking at a guided hunt. Don't have time to spend 2 or 3 weeks learning an area and learning animal habits etc., so I want to make the most of the week I will have. I am also looking for the total experience of a western wilderness hunt, so I would prefer a pack in horseback situation where you would most likely not see another hunter. (another reason for a guide, I don't have horses or this type of equipment)

I appreciate any advice etc as I am just beginning the information gathering process. If it takes a few years to draw that is OK as well, I will begin applying in 08.

eatsleephunt 09-30-2007 08:43 PM

RE: Where to Hunt Elk?

Look towards Wyoming, Montana or Idaho. Elk hunts are something you can find reasonably priced and still have the chance to take an above average animal.

drs1961 10-01-2007 07:20 AM

Ron Dube in Wyoming. Horseback way back in the wilderness to an authenic western tent camp.Very high success rates. Unquestionable ethics. Their has been numerous videos and articles written about him. First class operation.

Painted Horse 10-01-2007 01:42 PM

George and Larry run a good camp in Idaho near Challis.
They work hard and have a good success rate

http://www.wildidahooutfitters.com/

camelcluch 10-01-2007 04:49 PM