Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 New Waterfowl Hunter questions... >

New Waterfowl Hunter questions...

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

New Waterfowl Hunter questions...

Old 11-28-2004, 01:20 PM
Typical Buck

Default New Waterfowl Hunter questions...

I am new to waterfowl hunting, Scoring on my 7th whitetail of this season with my bow I am looking to hunt, just something different.
My questions are
1) is there a place on the net that I can get ahold of some type of guide to show the different types of ducks, with pics for the Atlantic flyway?

2)I have purchased a few calls, and am learning to use them, but how do you get the "feeding" mallard sounds?
Old 11-28-2004, 06:41 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: New Waterfowl Hunter questions...

Check the Ducks Unlimited site they have some good information on species. To make a feeding chuckel, blow in to the call saying "ticka ticka ticka ticka ticka". My dad used to say "chuga chuga chuga chuga" back when he hunted.
Old 11-28-2004, 07:12 PM

Old 11-28-2004, 07:17 PM

Not sure if that is any help. Probably not.
Old 11-29-2004, 09:43 AM
Typical Buck

Thanks for the replies.
I was looking more for the species of ducks that use that flyway, a field guide if you will. Some thing that I could print, laminate and carry into the field. Some ducks here in Va are shotters right now and some are not. Just need to know how to indentify them while I am out there.

Ticka, ticka, ticka? I'll try that. This is gonna take some real practice I see.
Old 11-29-2004, 10:14 AM