Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

someone's in MY blind

Old 11-25-2004, 12:40 PM

Default someone's in MY blind

i got to my blind this morning only to find some yahoo setting up dekes 40 feet from me. i pulled up and he comes over to me only to ask me i was from around here. i say yes and i've been hunting this spot for 12 years. he proceeds to tell me he from north jersey and he only comes down for goose season. never even says i'll move or kiss my a-- or anything just goes back to setting up. tells me he was there last week and got a couple of geese. (i had to work). so my question is what would you do? do you fight over it or just move up stream to another spot ?say hunt there today but don't be there next week. with this killing over a guy being told to move out of tree stand it makes me leary of being confrontional. I want to know what some of you would do? i will then post how i handled it
Old 11-25-2004, 02:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: someone's in MY blind

If its public hunting area just smile and say good luck , you would have no more rights to that spot than he dose and first come first to hunt.
If its private or a lease I would ask him to leave nicely.
If it was just you 2 why didn't you just ask to hunt with him in the blind ? Extra decoys and some one to talk to.
Old 11-25-2004, 02:38 PM
Inactive

johnch:

I like your response - great idea. 2 hunters share a blind - extra dekes, conversation, and who knows - a lasting friendship!!!

I had that happen once, and we became good friends and hunting partners for ducks. That was 40-some years ago, and we still keep in touch!!!
Old 11-25-2004, 03:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with X.....John couldn`t have put it any better.

Ron
Old 11-25-2004, 04:17 PM