Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

novice duckhunter

Old 01-18-2004, 04:40 PM

Default novice duckhunter

I am just getting started duck hunting, and I was wondering if anybody had any advice for me as things to get and stages to progress. I have hunted quail, rabbit, deer, and about everything else in the south. I have just got interested in duck hunting, but I am going to get started probably next year as its almost too late this year, but need advice. What about a dog? How soon should you start trying to train a dog? I have trained lots of bird dogs, beagles and such.
Old 01-18-2004, 06:51 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: novice duckhunter

Alot depends on what part of the country you are hunting. Do you need a boat to hunt the areas? If so you'll need a duckboat.

You'll also need a good pair of waders.

Any shotgun will do.

Get a good call or two........haydels or primos makes good calls, so does duck commander.

You'll also need at least a doz decoys.........

A dog, I wouldn't hunt ducks without one. I trained my dog but it was hard. Get a book or video or let someone else do it.

More tips later........
Old 01-18-2004, 07:22 PM

Thanks alot mallard! any of you guys that can stop me from pit falls I would sure appreciate it.
Old 01-18-2004, 07:32 PM
Fork Horn

I would also say that you would need to find a spot to hunt, if I were you in late spring and summer to look at different place to hunt and find where the ducks are.
Old 01-19-2004, 03:21 PM

Well you dont have to worry about a dog right away. My dad and I have been duck hunting for 4 years. We are getting a dog soon. We had no troubles retrieving the ducks by ourseleves.
Old 01-20-2004, 12:33 AM