Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
Want to Start Duck Hunting... >

Want to Start Duck Hunting...

Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Want to Start Duck Hunting...

Old 04-09-2020, 07:23 AM
Spike

Default Want to Start Duck Hunting...

Hey guys and gals, I want to get into duck hunting this coming fall but I don't really know where to start. I'm planning on buying a Benneli Supernova 12 gauge for my gun, but I'm not exactly sure what other equipment/brands are needed or good. Any tips and advice is welcome and appreciated!! I am an experienced deer and coyote hunter, and I've shot trap before so it's not like I'm completely new to the hunting/guns/outdoor life. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-09-2020, 09:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

One of the most expensive hunting sports out there. Going to need decoys for sure. Boat and waders are generally necessary too.
Old 04-09-2020, 09:14 AM
Boone & Crockett

The first thing you will need to do is learn to ID ducks in the air since not all ducks have the same bag limit. then you will need decoys and to learn how to call, a boat would be a plus as well. I recommend you find an experienced waterfowler to mentor you.

Last edited by Oldtimr; 04-09-2020 at 09:16 AM.
Old 04-09-2020, 10:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

I agree 100% with Oldtimr,
knowing what you can shoot is huge part of duck hunting
NOW< something your not mentioning is, what type of waterfowl hunting will you be doing and where>??
will you be hunting wild ducks, or plan on doing pay for hunts!?
are you hunting from a boat?, out of a blind?
jump shooting?
will you be on the ocean/ large lakes, rivers, streams
pond
potholes?
lots of different tools needed pending where and what type of hunting your going to do

do you have a DOG to retrieve them?
or HOW do you plan to get them if they land in the water??

all things you need to think about,