Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
6 month old lab/border-collie mix trainable? >

6 month old lab/border-collie mix trainable?

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

6 month old lab/border-collie mix trainable?

Old 01-23-2018, 08:11 AM
Spike

Default 6 month old lab/border-collie mix trainable?

I have a 6 month old black lab/border collie mix that i have had for about a week and a half. I want to train this dog to retrieve and a little bit of blood trailing. If i follow the water fowl series or the smart works series would I be able to train this dog to retrieve considering his age being 6 months instead of 8-12 weeks and also him being mixed instead of a full-bred?
Old 01-23-2018, 09:07 AM
Fork Horn

you have opened up a very broad subject .. I am a retriever trainer , not professional but good . anyway.. step 1 is neuter if not already done....now does the pup go after an object if you throw it? if so does he pick it up and at least turn around? a dog will only do what she/he was born to do .. it really is not hard to train a dog to do what they was born to do .. especially a retriever ..if you want to hunt w/him it's a lot of fun work .. lots of versatility , land , water , blind retrieves , hunting out of boats, multiple marks ,diversions ,honoring, the list goes on , i'm sure you'll find what he does naturally and he'll be great at it . we'd love to hear back from ya.. maybe a video and yes about the age .. I know you can still teach a 6 mnth old lots and lots .. in fact all mine learn their whole life

Last edited by davidg; 01-25-2018 at 09:44 AM.
Old 01-25-2018, 10:59 AM
Fork Horn

As said, is the dog interested in retrieving? You'll find people that get show labs and they show little interest in retrieving some times. You can teach them by making it fun.