Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
16ga, 20ga, or 28ga shotgun for geese? >

16ga, 20ga, or 28ga shotgun for geese?

Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

16ga, 20ga, or 28ga shotgun for geese?

Old 12-18-2017, 08:32 AM
Spike

Default 16ga, 20ga, or 28ga shotgun for geese?

I'm a small girl (5"1') looking to start waterfowling. I have a muscular upper body, so gun weight is not an issue, but recoil is my biggest concern. Will a 28ga kill a goose or do I need the 20ga with the stronger bite? Might I even need a 16ga? And can anyone recommend a good-quality, but affordable shotgun under $500 (in the gauge you chose) that I can use, considering that I'm a complete beginner?

Also, is a retriever really necessary? Do dead birds float long enough for me to go out in a kayak to get them, or should I just dish out for a dog?

Finally, do I really need decoys? If so, what is the minimum number I have to get (and of what types: motorized, still, etc.) to be effective? I'm on a low budget here.

Thanks,
Riverhawk

Last edited by riverhawk; 12-18-2017 at 08:39 AM.
Old 12-18-2017, 08:59 AM
Giant Nontypical

If you drop below a 12 the only real choice for waterfowl would be a 20. I don't even know if you can get non-toxic shells for the 16 and the 28. I used to love a 16 ga Belgian made A-5 for upland game but shells got hard to find and it turned into a safe queen. I sold it off.
Old 12-18-2017, 09:20 AM
Boone & Crockett