HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Waterfowl Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting-7/)
-   -   Reducing Recoil Advice Needed (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting/392871-reducing-recoil-advice-needed.html)

hunter177 07-10-2014 02:50 PM

Reducing Recoil Advice Needed

Today I shot a full box of Winchester XPert HV Steel shells at 1550 fps to break in my new semi-auto. The gun is a 12 ga., 6.8 lbs., 26" barrel. The load is 3", 1 1/8 oz., #2s. I've never had a problem with recoil and I didn't necessarily mind this hitting POI dead on each time. The issue is I could barely hold on to the gun. I'm new to waterfowling this year. Has anyone else had this happen? Are there any INEXPENSIVE ways to reduce felt recoil? I was thinking a ported choke maybe and/or lighter loads? I normally shoot 12 gauge shotguns, a 30-06 with no issues. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!

JW 07-10-2014 05:00 PM

Well one thing shooting at ducks or geese I am willing to bet the recoil will not be noticed.
Repetitive shooting at a target is another thing.

What is the manufacturer of the firearm?

JW

leo new 07-10-2014 05:11 PM

you could just get a padded butt cover to help absorb the recoil. just stretch it into place and you're done. wally-world has them for around $20.

hunter177 07-10-2014 07:34 PM

Gun Brand

It's a TriStar Viper G2, 12 gauge.

jrbsr 07-11-2014 04:52 AM

Originally Posted by hunter177 (Post 4148068)