HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Waterfowl Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting-7/)
-   -   Pretty new to this (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting/366341-pretty-new.html)

cajunshooter1 06-15-2012 07:50 AM

Pretty new to this

I've shot a shotgun before but im not too good on gun knowledge. Im gonna start duck hunting this season and need advice on a good beginners 12 gauge shotgun. Is it easier to shoot and kill ducks with a pump or semi-automatic? What size chamber do you recommend? Brand? Any advice would help....Thanks guys!

psandhu 06-15-2012 01:12 PM

To me, it's easier to shoot a semi than a pump. A good entry semi would be a Baikal MP-153. It has a 3.5" chamber, although you would probably be fine with 3" shells. I've been shooting a Super Black Eagle at ducks for the last 15 years, but I still recommend the MP-153 to people that want a shotgun. I know of 4 people who have bought one because of my recommendation. It's not too expensive either. 26" barrel is the most popular.

As far as shells go, I normally go through a case or two of Federal 3.5" blue box steel. Last year I got a reloader and have been pushing loads in excess of 1700 fps.

Rory/MO 06-16-2012 02:25 PM

I'll never shoot a pump at ducks again. That being said they definitely are tried and true. If you go the pump route take a look at the Remington 870. Semi-auto there's a lot of good options out there but my last two have been Stoeger M2000s. Go with a longer barrel, it helps swinging it and also keeps it safer in the blind/pit. I see no need for 3.5" shells, but some guys swear by them. 3" have always worked out great for me.

Sheridan 06-17-2012 09:54 AM

It's easiest to shoot either; if the gun "fits" you well.

KT29 06-17-2012 02:27 PM

Welcome to waterfowl hunting. If, as you say, you are new to shotguns and waterfowling I'd be inclined to do the following.