HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Waterfowl Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting-7/)
-   -   hunting swamps (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting/353729-hunting-swamps.html)

beaglefan 11-16-2011 02:19 PM

hunting swamps

I found a place to hunt that looks pretty good.It is a swampy area off of a river. I am new to waterfowling so my question is will the ducks come in off the river to the swampy areas that are shallow with no moving water or are they more likely to stay on the river where there is plenty of water? I curious what others have seen in these type of situations.

Alsatian 11-17-2011 06:26 AM

Set out some decoys and see if they come in: that will answer your question. Alternatively, get in there sometime during the day and see if they are on the water. I don't know what your swamp is like, but possibly it could have food that the ducks would not find in the free running water of the river. Also, swamp has negative connotations for me. I might refer to a puddle of water grown up with reeds a slough. Swamp associates in my mind with stagnant water and rotten vegetation and bad smells. I'm not sure that is inherent in the word "swamp" or just my peculiar associations with the word.

mnhunter1 11-17-2011 10:44 AM

if there is food they will come. watch where the ducks are going and set up where they want to be

Alpine_Archer 11-17-2011 01:30 PM

find where the ducks are then setup there.... Just setting up in a spot that looks "ducky" won't always work.

Rory/MO 11-21-2011 06:46 PM

Originally Posted by mnhunter1 (Post 3877612)
if there is food they will come. watch where the ducks are going and set up where they want to be