Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Duck Calling Advice

Old 07-24-2011, 09:20 PM
Spike

Default Duck Calling Advice

Hey guys Im new to Duck Hunting and I'm thinking about getting some duck calls so I want to know whats the best for my money and what types of calls should I get I'm hunting in Kansas by the way as far as duck species go.

Thanks
Old 07-25-2011, 04:58 AM
Nontypical Buck

Go buy you a set of Buck Gardner calls with an instructional cd. It will teach when and how to call ducks.
Old 08-03-2011, 10:54 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Colorado Luckydog
Go buy you a set of Buck Gardner calls with an instructional cd. It will teach when and how to call ducks.

Yep.. What he said.
Old 08-06-2011, 09:56 PM
Spike

The Buck Gadner set is GTG. Double reed calls are generally easier to use for beginners & get the job done, & single reeds get you the most realistic sounds.
Old 08-07-2011, 08:16 AM
Fork Horn

I got the buck gardner set but it really didn't help me out much... what I did is used the basics from the BG set and then got online and found natural duck sounds... you can look these up at the audobon society website. I then tuned my technique to model that of the real duck. The reason I did this is because some one told me that a real duck would never win a duck calling contest and most people out there seem to think that duck calling contests are the norm. Tho Buck Gardner does not teach this technique it is still what your mind has been tought to think. out in the blind, nothing beats a real duck as you will find out when you have a lone hen land about 100 yards away and start calling... your spread wont mean a thing to the rest of the ducks coming in... good luck out there.
Old 08-07-2011, 02:19 PM
Fork Horn

What part of Kansas are you hunting?
Old 08-07-2011, 05:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by skiftcky