Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
What sort of ammo do I use for waterfowl hunting? >

What sort of ammo do I use for waterfowl hunting?

Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

What sort of ammo do I use for waterfowl hunting?

Old 07-15-2010, 03:42 AM
Spike

Default What sort of ammo do I use for waterfowl hunting?

Hi, I'm a beginner at waterfowl hunting and am wondering what ammo to pick out... i have a 12ga shotgun... it can only hold 2 3/4 shells. What sort of size shot should I get? if you could explain in some detail that would be great. I don't fully understand what all of the numbers on the side of the ammunition box mean. Thanks.
Old 07-15-2010, 05:10 AM
Fork Horn

Do you know some one that hunts waterfowl there close to you?
If so it would be better to talk to them and let them explain things to you.
There is a lot to know about waterfowl hunting and the law. You need to know your different ducks and geese and be able to identify them in flight.
I know this does not answer your question. But it sounds to me like you need to learn more than just how to read a box of shells. Steel shot is what the law says you have to use. Lead is out. You can not use lead shot.
If you lived close to me I would be more than happy to help you.
Good Luck on learning and hunting.
Always Hunt SAFE.
Old 07-15-2010, 05:54 AM
Typical Buck

Use a Modified, Improved Cylinder, or Cylinder choke. Don't use Full or Improved Modified or any sort of turkey choke tube. As far as shot size goes, you'd be OK with 2 or 4 shot for most ducks. Don't get 6 and don't get BB. Make sure your gun is plugged to hold 3 shells.
Old 07-16-2010, 11:17 PM
Nontypical Buck