Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

getting into duck hunting

Old 02-15-2009, 12:01 PM

Default getting into duck hunting

i've never been duck hunting but i have a friend who wants me to go along with him. so i purchased a shotgun nothing fancy a remington 870 synthetic 12 ga, about as cheap as you can get, but i love my remington 700 CDL so i figured this shotgun would be decent enough. anyway i bought a full choke and it came with a modified choke.

i'm a total novice say take the question with a grain of salt, but if i remember a full choke is for turkey hunting and shooting lead, and the modified choke is better for waterfowl and you must use steel. I'm also going to on a few turkey hunts this year that's why i bought the full choke. also should I get a sling put on the shotgun? not sure what the consensus is on that.

also (a little late now) but is this shotgun a good choice? i know the benelli's are nice but i wanted to buy american and this one was quite a bit cheaper. i loved the break action double barrell shotguns but they were out of my price range, they were beautiful though.

anyway anything i need to know before my first duck hunt? can i bring my dog (chocolate lab)? don't most labradors go along with a hunt instinctively almost? or is there extensive training?

again excuse my dumb questions but i didn't see an FAQ. Thanks again.
Old 02-15-2009, 12:16 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: getting into duck hunting

The modified choke is your better option, or even and improved, this is debated. The full probably cannot have steel go through it, so you are correct.
I would suggest a sling, it helps for a odd number of things, and makes it a whole lot easier in my opinion.
I know a lot of people who love that shotgun. I love my Benelli Nova, argumentatively the easiest gun to clean because of the way it's made, so I think it personally is the best gun, but your 870 should do great too.