Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Swan Hunting

Old 09-03-2008, 01:01 PM
Fork Horn

Default Swan Hunting

I am still fairly new to the whole waterfowl game. And this year I drew out for a swan permit. I was just wondering if anyone has some advice on downing these big ol critters.
IE; Shot size/ type (Hevi-Shot?), techniques. I would like to stay with the modified choke, maybe a Briley or something else. Any input is appreciated

Old 09-03-2008, 08:12 PM

Default RE: Swan Hunting

Iv never hunted them But I would think bbb or T shot and Id spend the money on hevi-shot probably the coyote one them birdsare huge.
Old 09-03-2008, 10:38 PM
Fork Horn

you would want a full choke, perhaps extra full
Old 09-04-2008, 08:37 AM
Fork Horn

Do you think a .700 constriction would be good enough? I plan on B shot Hevi-Shot. It is said to be effective out pass 45 yds.
Old 09-05-2008, 05:57 PM

I don't remember how many yeaes we have had swan season but it has been quite a while. During the time it has been open I have drawn a tag or two almost every year and almost always have filled. I use T shot in steel or BBB in steel and have no problem killing them. You just have to remember to make sure they are in range. They have a much longer neck and much bigger than canada geese so they will look closer than they really are.

Old 09-14-2008, 02:10 AM

we cant shoot swans in the England because the ****ing queen wont let us lol but i wud recommend a 3 1/2 inch case with maybe BB's or BBB'S.

from kirk.
Old 09-14-2008, 11:23 AM
Spike

if you shoot a swan here, it will cost you 1000 bucks and your gun[:@]
Old 09-20-2008, 03:58 PM
Typical Buck