Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 Anyone built their own duck boat? update in the water 1-12-09 >

Anyone built their own duck boat? update in the water 1-12-09

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Anyone built their own duck boat? update in the water 1-12-09

Old 10-30-2008, 05:24 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Anyone built their own duck boat?

Rthook1

Right now I would kill for 70’s as a temp. We have had high 50’s to very low 60’s as highs for a little over a week now. My problem is the hardener. I bought medium set because I’m a beginner and the cold snuck up on me. I really need the fast set hardener now. My temps should be in the mid 70’s right now. My cave seemed to work and I don’t have help to haul the boat in and out of the carport most of the time. As for filler in the epoxy I'm using Aerosil-Cabosil (Fumed Silica). Got it when I ordered my epoxy. I told them I wanted the best weight to strength ratio and did not care how it looked. It was what they recommended, came in as bucket of powder and lighter than dry snow. I was warned it was hard to sand. No joke, a belt sander with 40 grit and time it what it needs. Darn stuff cures into a brick but works like a charm and stays up in vertical fillets. Thanks for to tip about pigment in the epoxy. I’ll definitely check that out.

AR 34 eight point

I got it at a local boat/marine engine shop. He is the best around here so I go to him for parts and supplies sometimes. I could have gotten it cheaper from boaters world or another chain store but tried his place first and he had one. Got to support the smaller guy, you never know when you’ll need him.

Mike
Old 11-07-2008, 07:50 PM
Fork Horn

Update

I got the keel strip routed and attached. 5.5ft long 2.5 inch wide