Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

decoys and calls

Old 03-09-2008, 05:02 PM
Fork Horn

Default decoys and calls

im a relatively new waterfowler, who hunts with seasoned vets everynow and than, but in order to go out with them more i need to pitch in and earn my spot to hunt, so i was wondering wat is a good effective decoy and call ( i can call just dont wanna spend the money on a Foiles) im a college student so spending big bucks isnt really an option unless the deal is worth my wild..

i dont mean to sound like those scammers.. im not asking for handouts just opinions on equiptment

" if it flies it dies"
Old 03-09-2008, 05:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: decoys and calls

If you can tune a call decently then I'd look at a Haydels DR-85. A lot of them right out of the package are a bit too squeaky or nasally for my liking... but if you can adjust the reeds to your calling style then you can make that thing sound almost exactly like a hen mallard.

What you will find in a call, be it good or bad, depends a lot on your hunting style and your calling style. If you are hunting flooded timber, you don't want a super loud call... nor do you want a swamp bore timber call if you are hunting big open lakes/rivers.

As far as decoys go, as long as they don't shine I don't hardly think it matters. Putting them where the ducks want to be is much more important than having them look exactly like the real thing. I've shot a lot of ducks over some very sorry looking blocks in my life.
Old 03-09-2008, 05:25 PM
Fork Horn