Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Early goose season

Old 08-27-2007, 08:51 PM

Default Early goose season

Hi all!! I am new to the early season and usually hunt geese in cut cornfields later in the season when there is plenty of cover to brush in the blind. I found about 200 geese landing in a freshly planted Alfalpha(sp?) field that is just starting to sprout. The farmer said "go get them" so Saturday I am gonna give it a try.

My question is, how do you guy's hide the blinds in basically a dirt field with maybe 2 inch green sprouts coming up here and there?

Any help would be appreciated and good luck/be safe
Old 08-27-2007, 09:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Early goose season

Find any depression and use fresh cut green grass to cover the blinds
Or the green Quack Grass if it is the same color

Another way is to set the blinds against or just in a feild next to the short grass
With the decoys 50yds into the short grass feild
Set the decoys so the geese pass over you as they land into the wind

A few years back we sat up in the first rows of a bean feild and shot 10 yard geese as they landed on a golf course

John
Old 08-27-2007, 09:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

fence lines, field edges? thats what we try to utilize when were out hunting. dont go to far from were u have seen the geese landing in the field.
Old 08-27-2007, 10:43 PM

I Agree with Mr.Fishy Fence Lines, field edges... we'ed hunt a basic grass field surrounded my corn as much as we could last year after school until the corn came off. We just went out and bought some cheap camo netting that matched the grass and stuck 2 screw drivers in the ground 2 hold it by our feet, throughout the whole season they were always landing right on top of us works almost aswell as a layout blind

Old 08-28-2007, 12:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

good tips mallard. thanks
Old 08-28-2007, 07:56 AM
Giant Nontypical