Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Waterfowl Hunting
 Canadian Goose Advice, Please! >

Canadian Goose Advice, Please!

Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Canadian Goose Advice, Please!

Old 08-17-2007, 01:26 PM

Default Canadian Goose Advice, Please!

I'm a rookie goose hunter. Got my stamps, liscense & have a Winchester 1300, 24" smoothbore w/modified choke that will accept steel shot, 2 3/4" or 3" rounds. Hundreds of Canadian geese within 50 yard range of my house.
Question, 2 3/4" or 3" rounds?
Question, what size steel shot?
Question, where to find rookie recipes for consumption?
All advice appreciated. I'm a veteran; deer, wild boar, bear, predator & varmit hunter so gun handling is easy for me. Unfamiliar with goose hunting.
Diodeman
Old 08-17-2007, 01:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Canadian Goose Advice, Please!

I hope I can be of some help, just off what others say and not experience... Im a rookie too.

sounds like the gun will be great'
I shoot for goose, 3" BB , I have been told you can use BBB,BB,#2's for goose.

I have tried two ways to cook goose, one is to cut into strips, dip in egg and bread with potato chips(crums), then fry

I also took the same strips and fried them in butter and onions, with garlic and onion.. good luck..dont over cook or it gets tough, make fairly small strips and keep it pink.
Old 08-18-2007, 10:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have to agree with AR. For geese I always stagger my rounds. First shot is a 3"#2. And 2nd and3rdBB or BBB. I like to make jerkey out of my birds. mmm.mmmm
Old 08-18-2007, 12:24 PM

It appears as if you have the equipment, I would consider a blind to shoot from, but if this is your first season, experience will teach you what you need.